You are here

Pelosi Names House Democratic Budget Conferees

Washington, D.C. – Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi today named House Democratic Members to serve on a conference committee to complete a budget agreement.  To lead Democrats’ efforts in these negotiations, Leader Pelosi appointed all Democratic Members of the Budget Committee, led by Ranking Member Chris Van Hollen, as conferees.

“This step is long overdue.  The American people can’t afford to wait any longer for Republicans to act on a reasonable, responsible budget, and neither should we,” Leader Pelosi said.  “The expertise, experience, and diversity of Budget Committee Democrats will be essential in enacting a budget that replaces the devastating cuts of the sequester, creates jobs, strengthens the middle class, and responsibly reduces the deficit.”

It has now been 96 days since the Senate passed a budget, yet still, House Republican leaders refuse to appoint conferees and move the process forward to reach a comprehensive budget agreement.  At the same time, Republicans have failed to enact a single job creation bill in this Congress.

Democrats have put our ideas on the table time and again, with a budget proposal to create jobs, promote growth, invest in innovation and infrastructure, and bring down the deficit in a balanced way.  Democrats remain committed to pursuing a budget that is a statement of our country’s values and that spurs progress and prosperity for all Americans.

The following Democratic Members serve on the Budget Committee:

  • Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, Ranking Member
  • Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania
  • John Yarmuth of Kentucky
  • Bill Pascrell of New Jersey
  • Tim Ryan of Ohio
  • Gwen Moore of Wisconsin
  • Kathy Castor of Florida
  • Jim McDermott of Washington
  • Barbara Lee of California
  • David Cicilline of Rhode Island
  • Hakeem Jeffries of New York
  • Mark Pocan of Wisconsin
  • Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico
  • Jared Huffman of California
  • Tony Cardenas of California
  • Earl Blumenauer of Oregon
  • Kurt Schrader of Oregon