You are here

Pelosi Announces New Vice Chair, Members of Steering and Policy Committee

Washington, D.C. – House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi announced today that the following members will be joining the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee: Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky of Illinois as Vice Chair of the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee, Congresswoman Terri Sewell of Alabama as Chief Deputy Whip, and Congresswoman Judy Chu of California as a member of the Steering and Policy Committee.

“Congresswomen Schakowsky, Sewell, and Chu each represent the best of our Democratic Caucus – its diversity, its commitment, and its dedication to a strong, thriving, and growing middle class,” Leader Pelosi said.  “These leaders bring strong values and a clear vision to our Steering and Policy Committee, and their insights and ideas will prove essential in advancing an agenda of fairness for women, good jobs for our workers, opportunity for families, and responsible deficit reduction for America’s future.”

In the 113th Congress, Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro and Congressman Rob Andrews serve as Co-Chairs of the Steering and Policy Committee, and Congressman Henry Cuellar will continue to serve as Vice Chair along with Congresswoman Schakowsky.