You are here

Pelosi Names Conferees to FY 2014 Budget Conference

Washington, D.C. – Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi today named three House Democratic Members to serve on a conference committee to complete a final FY 2014 budget agreement.  She appointed Assistant Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn; Congressman Chris Van Hollen, Ranking Member on the Budget Committee; and Congresswoman Nita Lowey, Ranking Member on the Appropriations Committee.  Below is Leader Pelosi’s statement:     

“The House Democratic Caucus is a picture of America – and our conferees will truly represent the diversity, values, and priorities of our country and our caucus.  Assistant Leader Clyburn, Congressman Van Hollen, and Congresswoman Lowey are committed to a budget that creates jobs, strengthens the middle class, and responsibly reduces the deficit.     

“For months, House Democrats have called on the Republican leadership to appoint conferees and move forward down the path to a sensible budget agreement.  While this long-overdue step was only spurred by a reckless Republican shutdown and a near-default, we look forward to sitting down at the negotiating table and focusing on the work ahead.  It’s time to stop governing from manufactured crisis to manufactured crisis and start working together to promote the prosperity for every American who works hard and plays by the rules to achieve the American Dream.”