Pelosi Announces Committee Assignments for Two New Members

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced today that the House Democratic Steering Committee has approved recommendations for committee appointments for two new Members, Congressman Mike Quigley of Illinois, who was sworn in last week, and Congressman Scott Murphy of New York, who was sworn in today.  The full Democratic Caucus is expected to approve these recommendations at its next meeting.

The Steering Committee approved the following recommendations:

Congressman Mike Quigley of Illinois
• House Judiciary Committee
• House Oversight and Government Reform

Congressman Scott Murphy of New York
• House Agriculture Committee
• House Armed Services Committee