Pelosi Announces Ranking Members, DCCC Chair

Washington, D.C. – House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi announced that Congressman Steve Israel and the following Ranking Members will serve in their respective leadership roles in the 113th Congress.  These positions were approved by the Democratic Caucus unanimously by acclamation today.

“Under Chairman Israel’s leadership of the DCCC, House Democrats won more than 200 races on Election Day, bringing to Congress the first ‘majority-minority’ Caucus in our history,” Leader Pelosi said with respect to her nomination of Congressman Israel.  “I’m thrilled his tireless efforts will continue, as his tested experience will be crucial for House Democrats to continue breaking historical trends with a strong victory in 2014.”

Congressman Chris Van Hollen of Maryland was nominated and elected unanimously by acclimation by the House Democratic Caucus to serve as Ranking Member of the House Budget Committee.

The House Democratic Caucus also approved Leader Pelosi’s nominations of the following Ranking Members:

•    Congresswoman Louise Slaughter of New York, House Rules Committee
•    Congressman Robert Brady of Pennsylvania, House Committee on Administration

“Middle class families across the country will benefit from the wealth of knowledge and experience Congressman Van Hollen, Congresswoman Slaughter, and Congressman Brady bring to their respective committees,” Leader Pelosi said. “Each of these leaders are committed to working with their Republican chairman to make progress for the American people.”